Rep. Wheeler legislation ensuring access to safe drinking water for Montgomery, Oswego, and Yorkville signed into law

Today, legislation sponsored by Assistant House Minority Leader Rep. Keith Wheeler, R-Oswego, to ensure access to safe drinking water for communities in Kane and Kendall Counties was signed into law. The legislation, Senate Bill 1016, provides for the communities of Montgomery, Oswego and Yorkville to join the DuPage Water Commission and gain access to water supplied from Lake Michigan.

“Access to fresh, safe drinking water is essential for every community,” said Rep. Wheeler. “The signing of SB 1016 into law ensures Montgomery, Oswego and Yorkville are able to transition their water supply from a depleting aquifer source to Lake Michigan to provide them with a long-term, sustainable and affordable drinking water source for years to come. I’m proud I was able to help lead this bipartisan legislation through the House in support of these communities.”

The current underground aquifer the three communities rely on may reach depletion by 2030. After a seven-plus year study, they determined joining the DuPage Water Commission to access Lake Michigan water would provide a high-quality long-term solution.

Under the new law, the DuPage Water Commission is able to create a 7th District to encompass the three municipalities, with two members to be appointed to the commission for the new District. The communities are also authorized to connect to the water system and pursue agreements to finance, engineer and construct the necessary infrastructure.

For more information about the legislation, click here.

Rep. Wheeler serves the 50th District, which includes portions of Kane and Kendall Counties, including the communities affected by SB 1016.