Injured Aurora Police Officers Honored at Celebration of Courage Recognition Ceremony

State Representative Keith Wheeler addresses the Aurora Strong Recognition Ceremony while the five officers who received gun shot wounds during the Henry Pratt shooting look on.

Rep. Wheeler presented House Resolution 177 and Certificates of Recognition to all five Aurora police officers wounded during the Henry Pratt Shooting

State Representative Keith Wheeler (R –Oswego) presented House Resolution 177 today at the Celebration of Courage Recognition Ceremony honoring first responders to the Henry Pratt shooting on February 15.

The resolution honors the five victims who lost their lives as well as the police, fire, paramedics, and 9-1-1 dispatchers whose bravery was on full display that tragic day. The resolution specifically names the six officers who sustained injuries during the response. In addition to the resolution, Rep. Wheeler also presented the five Aurora police officers wounded by gunfire with a Certificate of Recognition from the Illinois House:

  • Officer Adam Miller,  serving since March 2015
  • Officer Marco Gomez, serving since September 2005
  • Officer John Cebulski, serving since August 1988
  • Officer James Zegar, serving since September 1993
  • Officer Reynaldo Rivera, serving since January 1995

All 118 members of the Illinois House were added as co-sponsors when the resolution passed on March 13th. Rep. Wheeler’s remarked at the ceremony, “This is what real hero’s look like,” and read of a portion of the resolution which states:

“WHEREAS, There was much loss on that fateful day, however, the brave, steadfast response of the Aurora Police Department and the Aurora Fire Department prevented any further civilian casualties; the actions taken by the numerous members of law enforcement, without a doubt, helped prevent the losses from being any greater.”

Rep. Wheeler was joined by Aurora Mayor Richard Irvin, Aurora Police Chief Kristen Ziman, Aurora Fire Chief Gary Krienitz, and a host of first responders representing the Aurora community. The ceremony, which took place at the Paramount Theater, included an array of awards including the Blue Star Award, Medal of Valor, Medal of Merit, Departmental Commendation, Divisional Commendation, and the Unit Merit Award. 

For questions or more information, please call Representative Wheeler’s office at (630) 345-3464.