Rep. Wheeler appointed Assistant House GOP Leader

State Representative Keith Wheeler, R-Oswego, was appointed to the post of Assistant House Republican Leader today for the new 101st Illinois General Assembly. Wheeler, a 28-year small business owner and sixth generation Kendall County resident, was first elected in 2014 to represent the 50th District, which includes portions of Kane and Kendall Counties. 

The role of Assistant Leader is to advocate for caucus positions on legislative issues and build coalitions in support of legislation pending on the House Floor. Representative Wheeler’s appointment was announced by House Minority Leader Jim Durkin, R-Western Springs, on Wednesday. 

“I am truly honored to accept the appointment as Assistant Republican Leader,” Wheeler said. “I am grateful to Leader Durkin and the entire House Republican Caucus for this opportunity.  I stand committed to working with Republican and Democratic leaders from both the House and Senate to make much-needed reforms to state government and to help create Illinois jobs for Illinois families.” 

Representative Wheeler is a former Board Chairman of the Aurora Regional Chamber of Commerce and a past Illinois Leadership Council Chairman of the National Federation of Independent Business. As a freshman member of the Illinois House of Representatives in 2015, Wheeler passed legislation requiring all state agencies to review rules and regulations on small business in order to identify those that can be streamlined or eliminated; as well as serving as a key voice in support of workers’ compensation reform and responsible budgeting. 

In addition to this new appointment as Assistant Republican Leader, Representative Wheeler continues to serve as Co-Chairman of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR), the state’s bi-partisan legislative oversight committee of rules used to implement new and existing laws across all state agencies; a position he has held since February 2017.

Representative Wheeler took office on January 9 for his third term serving the 50thDistrict, which includes portions of Aurora, Batavia, Geneva, Campton Hills, Elburn, Montgomery, Oswego, Plano, St. Charles, Sugar Grove and Yorkville.